top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmilia Migliaccio

Who is Jessica Farrell? (Just an Illusion Preview)


What has Jessica been hiding?

“Where are we going?” I laughed as my boyfriend dragged me by the arm.

“Can’t tell you babe.”

“Can you at least take the blindfold off?” I whined.

He laughed. “Nope.”

I rolled my eyes when I kept hearing his snickers every time I tripped over my own steps.

“Why do we keep walking uphill?” I groaned.

“Hold on Jessie we are almost there.” He said, and I could picture his stupid little grin as I continued to complain.

The ground was hard and rocky, and the air cooled the longer we walked. After my legs almost gave out from walking for so long, we stopped. I could feel the presence of his fingers as he untied the blindfold.

When he took the cloth from my eyes, I was in awe at what was before me. We were on top of Mount Cater.

“I know you said this was your favorite place to be.” He smiled down at me and kissed my cheek.

“Yes, it is.” I breathed and wrapped my arms around his waist while leaning my head on his chest.

The view was picturesque. It was fall, so the blended colors of the trees molded perfectly, creating a rainbow of beauty. And the houses looked like little toys you could pick up and play with. My family had a house below this mountain. When we stayed here during the summer, I always took the three mile walk up, and read for hours. My eyes closed and then opened again as I took in the view of beauty.

“You like babe?” He asked.

I looked into his chilling, pale blue eyes. “I love it.” I told him and smiled.

He grinned, and his eyes twinkled like ice hit by the sun.

“Gosh, you're beautiful.” He whispered before placing his lips on mine.

We had brought a blanket to lie down on while we watched the dusk turn to night. It was beginning to get cold as goosebumps formed on my skin.

I played with his hair as he rested peacefully with his eyes closed.

I was glad things were better between us.

“Hey, do you want to get going?” I whispered.

He sighed and sat up. “Why, you don't like it here?” He asked. His tone of voice was slightly harsher than before.

“No no, I love it, but I’m getting a little cold.” I told him calmly, trying my best attempt to not make him angry.

“We haven't even been here that long and you're already complaining about something. I swear Jessica you do not appreciate anything I do for you.” As the temperature got colder, so did his voice.

I swallowed the lump in my throat as I tried to form my next sentence correctly.

I forced a smile and kissed him on the lips. “I love it here, and I love you.” I said.

He looked at me and smiled before closing his eyes again.

I rested my head on his chest as I looked up into the stars. I was feeling something inside, but I couldn't comprehend emotions I wanted to let out. I tried to relax and drifted off into a tense rest.

“Babe we’re leaving now.” He told me.

His voice was softer than before and because of it, I happily stood up. Our hands were intertwined as I stayed close to him for warmth.

“Jess hold on for a second.” He stopped me.

I looked up at him.

“I got you something.” He said, holding up a little black box.

“Oh.” I said, smiling. It was really all I could say because I was too afraid to say the wrong thing.

By the look on his face, I could tell he was irritated from my response. I panicked trying to think of something to say.

I pecked his lips. “What did you get me?” I grinned.

He smiled and handed me the box. I took it in my hands and gasped at what I saw. It was a stunning pearl necklace.

“Wow.” I said, not being able to form many words.

“You like it?” He asked.

“It looks very expensive. You didn't need to—“

“But you like it right?” He almost demanded.

“Yes, I do.” I replied.

He snatched the necklace from me. “You don’t like it.” He snapped. “I know you don’t.”

“That’s not what I said. I said—“

“Jessica I’m not stupid!” He shouted, and I had to look away to keep myself from crying. “You appreciate nothing I give you! Nothing! All you do is—“He cut himself short. He heard yet another vibration from my phone which he had heard for the last half hour. “Who the hell are you texting?” He snatched the phone out of my hand.

Want to know what happens next? Click this link to find out more https://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?keyWords=emilia+migliaccio&type=
52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Any questions? Contact me at emiliacm5589@gmail.com 

bottom of page